Each of the maritime provinces had their own currency prior to the creation of the Confederation of Canada. In the case of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia the last year of having their own currency was 1864 with PEI following soon after in 1873.  Newfoundland continued with their own coinage up until 1947 when they too joined the Confederation of Canada.

In addition to maritime coinage, within this category you will also find bank tokens which includes Upper Canada as well as Lower Canada.